Christmas is a time of happiness, joy and good cheer, especially when surrounded by
family, friends and loved ones. But I have to admit the holidays can bring on a
lot of stress and those holiday blues. I used to love Christmas as a young
child, but now as an adult I have to say it’s not as exciting and fun as when I
was growing up. There are many factors that lead to stress during the Christmas
holidays such as time and finances. I am a single mother of two boys working
full-time and going to school part-time, I myself tend to find it to very
stressful for me during this time of the year. What I find most stressful during
the holidays is trying to find time. Trying to find the time to study for
finals, finding the time to go christmas shopping for my boys, finding the time
to be with family and friends all at the same time. Time is a big stress factor
for me. I get so stressed out because there just isn’t enough time to do
everything. Another stress factor for me during Christmas is the financial
burden of buying extra gifts, financial pressure from family, friends and
children. I would love to buy for everyone on my list, but unfortunately that is
not possible. Not having enough finances is a major stress factor for me during
the Christmas holidays. I would love to buy for others, but the lack of money
prevents that from happening. Knowing how to prevent those holiday blues will
reduce the stress most of us feel during Christmas. One way I might be able to
reduce my stress during Christmas is learning how to balance my time between my
family, work and school. I feel that if I know how to find a way to balance my
time and find time for myself I will be able to reduce my stress during the
Christmas holidays. Another way to reduce the holiday stress due to finances is
to figure out what is the purpose and meaning of giving. There might be a more
meaningful way of giving that is less demanding on me. I can also set a budget
and only spend what my budget will allow me to spend. I can start saving for
Christmas in January and put aside a certain amount every month until December
and then when December comes around I’ll have enough on my budget to spend.
Christmas is supposed to be merry and jolly, but if we allow these stressors to
affect us then Chirstmas will not be so merry. The holidays are for making
memories and for bonding with family and friends, so make the best of your
holidays and the memories you make will be priceless.     




Leave a Reply.

    Jessica Miller

    My name is Jessica Miller. I am currently a Senior at Texas A&M University in Kingsville and majoring in Human Development and Family Studies. My career goal after graduation is to teach Pre-K or Kinder age children.